Dog Eat Dog (Treat)

Day 23:
31 days of pumpkins has treats for the entire family and today that means our canine companion Sooki. I found this dog treat recipe at Pitlandia through Pinterest. I have always thought about making homemade treats for Sooki, but I never actually followed through with those thoughts. I barely take the time to make homemade treats for myself. This project though gave me the perfect opportunity to finally do that. Plus it gives us the perfect break from more snacks or pumpkin dinners. (Hey, we love them, but we can’t eat sweets every day right? We still have a load of scones left over)

Pumpkin Peanut Butter Dog Treats (I Cut the recipe I found in half because I didn’t want hundred+ treats)

  • 1 1/4 Cups Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 large egg
  • 2/3 cup pumpkin purée, canned or fresh
  • 1 1/2 Tbsps peanut butter
“Preheat the oven to 350°F. Place all ingredients in the mixing bowl or a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. Mix on medium for about a minute, or until the dough looks like a bunch of little dough balls. If you pinch a piece and it crumbles, add a little water. If it’s really sticky, it’s too wet and you’ll need to add a little flour. Gather the dough together and form into a ball. Place on a lightly floured work surface and roll it out to about 1/4-inch thickness. You can either use a cookie cutter to cut out cute shapes, or use a knife to cut squares or strips.  Place the cookies on a baking sheet.  Bake 15-20 minutes for softer treats or 30 minutes for hard treats.”
Yum?

Yum?

Patiently Waiting

Patiently Waiting

I hope Sooki likes them, but she’s been known to eat Kitty Litter so I think she will. Speaking of Kitty’s, I wonder if there are any pumpkin treats for Napoleon on Pinterest…
Leave a Reply

