Pumpkin Spice Coffee Creamer

Day 29:

Who doesn’t love a tasty flavored coffee creamer in a nice hot cup of coffee? A few years back, my good friend and I lived off the stuff every day at work around 3pm when I couldn’t make it through the rest of the day without a little caffeine boost. Although I drank it every day I never really noticed the list of unusual ingredients listed on the side of the bottle. There are many different things included that do not appear to be necessary. I will not deny its deliciousness BUT I am intrigued at the idea that I could make a suitable alternative with everyday items in the kitchen.

Here goes! Pumpkin Spice Coffee Creamer was really easy to make so that goes in the plus column.

Recipe:

  • 2 cups milk
  • 4 Tbsp. pumpkin puree
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. ginger
  • dash cardamon
  • dash cloves
  • 4 Tbsp. maple syrup
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar (called for Splenda which I do not like)

pumpkin coffee creamer

The coffee creamer was very easy to put together and tasted pretty good on its own.  I was a little disappointed in the finished product in the coffee, though, as it was nicely spiced but bland.  I added the sugar as an afterthought and the coffee was really strong so I will try more tomorrow to see if I have a different attitude on a different day.  If not, my sister suggested I let Penny drink it and call it pumpkin pie milk.  That might work too 🙂

To improve the flavor I would try to make the mix with half & half instead and use the real pumpkin pie spice they suggested in the original recipe. – Sarah

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

